Fly Life Magazine

2018 IGFA Fishing Hall of Fame Inductees announced

Wired2Fish March 2018

Five angling greats and industry pioneers are headed to the IGFA Hall of Fame.

Elected unanimously by the IGFA Board of Trustees, the 2018 inductees include IGFA World Record leader Dr. Martin Arostegui, fly-fishing broadcasting pioneer John Barrett, master blue marlin angler Ralph G. Christiansen Jr., upstream dry-fly fishing legend Frederic Halford and modern tackle innovator Frank Johnson. The IGFA Fishing Hall of Fame recognizes extraordinary achievements in recreational fishing by anglers, captains, scientists, conservationists, writers or fishing industry leaders across the globe.

“The IGFA Fishing Hall of Fame honors recreational angling and game fish conservation leaders who have made major contributions to our sport,” said IGFA President Nehl Horton. “From innovative advancements in equipment and techniques to unmatched individual angling achievements, each of the 2018 inductees have written their own chapter in fishing history and their stories will be celebrated for years to come.”

The 2018 class will be formally inducted on September 15, 2018, during a ceremony at the IGFA Fishing Hall of Fame located in the new Wonders of Wildlife National Museum and Aquarium in Springfield, Missouri. Their contributions to game fishing will be forever preserved alongside 121 angling legends, including Izaak Walton, Michael Lerner, Francesca LaMonte, Zane Grey, Mary Orvis Marbury, Ernest Hemingway, Ted Williams, Bill Dance, Mark Sosin, Lee and Joan Wulff, Flip Pallot, Alfred C. Glassell Jr., Skip Farrington and Curt Gowdy.

Read full article…

Like this Article? Share it!

Leave A Response

You must be logged in to post a comment.